Show #6 That’s No Line of Work for a Man, Brian Kimberling and Allan Wilson, Edinburgh International Book Festival

I was pleasantly surprised by Brian Kimberling’s reading of his debut work “Snapper”. For some illogical reason I had arbitrarily decided that I didn’t like him whilst at the Amnesty International reading, however he spoke eloquently and passionately about his work which explores rural Indiana. Hearing a work in the author’s own voice can be misleading in my experience, however I was suitably won over and will definitely be checking it out.

It was then the turn of Allan to talk about his work, the upcoming novel “Meat”. How upcoming is up for debate given that it is not yet finished and this provided the real focus for the discussion that followed. Allan spoke about the difficulties faced in trying to juggle writing with working, the frustration of never truly being pleased with one’s own writing and his dislike of self-promotion on social networks.

Leave a comment