Misc #4 Sandball 2013

As mentioned in my last post, on Saturday I took part in a beach handball tournament. Beach handball (or sandball, although apparently there are differences between the two) is a variation of team handball. With only 4 players on each side the defensive aspect of the game is greatly reduced and is much faster-paced.

Teams from around Scotland took part in this first tournament and thankfully the weather was atypically Scottish. I am still suffering from the foolish decision to forego sunscreen.

Aside from it being the first beach handball tournament in Scotland, it was noteworthy for another reason. My first ever goal for Edinburgh Handball Club!

Kirby grips do not make for an attractive hairstyle on me

Kirby grips do not make for an attractive hairstyle on me

We narrowly missed winning, losing to Dundee on a shoot-out in the final. Despite this disappointment, a fun day was had and I hope that the tournament will become a regular event.

Relaxing between games, there are worse ways to spend a Saturday afternoon

Relaxing between games, there are worse ways to spend a Saturday afternoon

Thank you to Dundee Handball Club for organising and hosting the event!

Leave a comment